Oh no! Where's the JavaScript?
Your Web browser does not have JavaScript enabled or does not support JavaScript. Please enable JavaScript on your Web browser to properly view this Web site, or upgrade to a Web browser that does support JavaScript.
Not a member yet? Click here to register.
Forgot Password?

I founded maybe biggest bug in history php-fusion!

Asked Modified Viewed 6,535 times
-
- Lordest -
-
  • Newbie, joined since
  • Contributed 5 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 1 thread in the forums
  • Started this discussions
asked
Newbie

Hi! I founded very big bug! File index.php have code on redirect to page which select the administrator.. But, if you write to Site opening page index.php, webpage will fall down! :D , I don´t know that bug is in v7 too, but in newest version of v6 it is! Thanks

Lordest

(sry for english, something is bad i know :D)
Edited by - Lordest - on 28-01-2009 14:11,
0 replies

13 posts

M
muscapaul
M
Paul

Time flies like an arrow, fruit flies like banana (Groucho Marx)

Sites: Diptera.info (site owner); Online-Keys.net (site owner); Sciomyzidae.info (site co-owner); muscapaul.com (defunct; site owner)
  • Veteran Member, joined since
  • Contributed 1,075 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 8 threads in the forums
answered
Veteran Member

index.php is the only file you should not choose for setting as starting page. This is the file that checks what setting you have in the database for the starting page. If you then choose index.php it will get you in an indefinite loop. It is no bug, it was designed that way.
0 replies
B
bite
B
bite 10
  • Member, joined since
  • Contributed 163 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 5 threads in the forums
answered
Member

Its not bug, its redirection loop
Edited by bite on 28-01-2009 14:22,
0 replies
-
- Lordest -
-
  • Newbie, joined since
  • Contributed 5 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 1 thread in the forums
  • Started this discussions
answered
Newbie

If I be you, I´ll be fixed it.. because when some people who is starting in fusion, example found the index.php file on FTP, and he select starting page as index.php, he´ll have trouble.. his page will fall down.. but ok, if you think so that..
0 replies
D
DubSev
D
DubSev 10
......................................
let's go f***ing mental! la la la la...
  • Senior Member, joined since
  • Contributed 285 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 5 threads in the forums
answered
Senior Member

The redirect script is there so admins can choose the desired start page. Like 99,5% of the people who have a website know the index (html or php) file is the default start location. If no specific file has been request (i.e. www.google.com and not http://www.google.com/about.html) index.php will redirect to news.php (or whatever page).
These people would know that there has been an adaption of the index file, so it would be best NOT to set index.php as the start page.

It's not a bug, it's a good feature.
0 replies
M
muscapaul
M
Paul

Time flies like an arrow, fruit flies like banana (Groucho Marx)

Sites: Diptera.info (site owner); Online-Keys.net (site owner); Sciomyzidae.info (site co-owner); muscapaul.com (defunct; site owner)
  • Veteran Member, joined since
  • Contributed 1,075 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 8 threads in the forums
answered
Veteran Member

You cannot choose index.php as start page because it will create an endless loop.
0 replies
-
- Lordest -
-
  • Newbie, joined since
  • Contributed 5 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 1 thread in the forums
  • Started this discussions
answered
Newbie

Quote

DubSev wrote:
The redirect script is there so admins can choose the desired start page. Like 99,5% of the people who have a website know the index (html or php) file is the default start location. If no specific file has been request (i.e. www.google.com and not http://www.google.com/about.html) index.php will redirect to news.php (or whatever page).
These people would know that there has been an adaption of the index file, so it would be best NOT to set index.php as the start page.

It's not a bug, it's a good feature.


but 90% of people don't know what's coding.. they're cannot know that index.php have only redirect to that page, which select administrator.. if administrator select index.php in administration, index.php will be redirect always on index.php and redirect cannot be finished..

2 muscapaul:
I tryed select starting page as index.php on v6, and that, was can..
Edited by - Lordest - on 29-01-2009 14:40,
0 replies
D
DubSev
D
DubSev 10
......................................
let's go f***ing mental! la la la la...
  • Senior Member, joined since
  • Contributed 285 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 5 threads in the forums
answered
Senior Member

Well... if people screw up: they can come to these forums and we will tell 'em what they did wrong. Problem fixed and they learned something.

Again: it is not a bug or any kind of other faulty coding.

BTW: I'll try and make a new version of index.php tonight
0 replies
-
- Lordest -
-
  • Newbie, joined since
  • Contributed 5 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 1 thread in the forums
  • Started this discussions
answered
Newbie

okay.. so, discussion is complete :D.. you can lock that... I agree with DubSev..
0 replies
D
DubSev
D
DubSev 10
......................................
let's go f***ing mental! la la la la...
  • Senior Member, joined since
  • Contributed 285 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 5 threads in the forums
answered
Senior Member

Well... could someone check this (it works fine on my local though):


<?php
/*-------------------------------------------------------+
| PHPFusion Content Management System
| Copyright (C) 2002 - 2008 Nick Jones
| http://www.php-fusion.co.uk/
+--------------------------------------------------------+
| Original filename: index.php
| Original author: Nick Jones (Digitanium)
| current filename: index.php
| file edited by: DubSev
| +++++
| changes:
| Added code. When index.php has been set as opening page
| an error message will appear which will tell to change
| opening page.
+--------------------------------------------------------+
| This program is released as free software under the
| Affero GPL license. You can redistribute it and/or
| modify it under the terms of this license which you
| can read by viewing the included agpl.txt or online
| at www.gnu.org/licenses/agpl.html. Removal of this
| copyright header is strictly prohibited without
| written permission from the original author(s).
+--------------------------------------------------------*/
require_once "maincore.php";

if ($settings['opening_page'] == 'index.php') { die("Oops! It seems like the webmaster set index.php as the startpage.
If you are the webmaster, please go to www.yoursite.com/login.php, login if needed, go to your admin panel and use another opening page.") ;}
else {redirect($settings['opening_page']);}

?>
0 replies
-
- Lordest -
-
  • Newbie, joined since
  • Contributed 5 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 1 thread in the forums
  • Started this discussions
answered
Newbie

fine... sure that it help for some person..
0 replies
— 1 month later —
J
jdes
J
jdes 10
  • Junior Member, joined since
  • Contributed 40 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 7 threads in the forums
answered
Junior Member

You forgot that a blank entry as the start page, will also produce um...blank screen too!
0 replies
U
Ugleh
U
Ugleh 10
  • Member, joined since
  • Contributed 160 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 27 threads in the forums
answered
Member

Only thing i suggest in the next update make it so Admins CANT pick index.php, like it'll give them a warning.
0 replies
W
Wanabo
W
Wanabo 10
www.probemyip.com/probe-my-ip-80x15.png
pHp-Fusion.Asia & pHp-Fusion.Fr & pHp-Fusion.Cn are available for a localized support community. Send PB for info.
  • Senior Member, joined since
  • Contributed 598 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 94 threads in the forums
answered
Senior Member

This index.php redirect setting is bad for SEO.
0 replies

Category Forum

Bugs and Errors - 6

Labels

None yet

Statistics

  • Views 0 views
  • Posts 13 posts
  • Votes 0 votes
  • Topic users 7 members

0 participants

Notifications

Track thread

You are not receiving notifications from this thread.

Related Questions

Not yet