Oh no! Where's the JavaScript?
Your Web browser does not have JavaScript enabled or does not support JavaScript. Please enable JavaScript on your Web browser to properly view this Web site, or upgrade to a Web browser that does support JavaScript.
Not a member yet? Click here to register.
Forgot Password?

cPanel Install Error

Asked Modified Viewed 1,994 times
S
swerdna
S
  • Newbie, joined since
  • Contributed 5 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 1 thread in the forums
  • Started this discussions
asked
Newbie

Hello. I get this error message when I attempt to "next" from the "setup.php" screen:

Quote

Unable to select MySQL database
1044 : Access denied for user 'swerdna_myname'@'localhost' to database 'swerdna_mydbase'


I use cPanel. I created a mysql database in the cPanel control panel using these parameters:
username = myname
password=mypass
database name=mydbase
Cpanel echoes back to me that the username is siteuser_myname and the database name is siteuser_mydbase. Cpanel attaches the prefix siteuser, where siteuser is the username for the web site.

So on the initial configuration of PHP-FUSION, at the page "setup.php", I have an entry screen like this:

Quote

Welcome to PHPFusion setup

Write permissions check passed

Please complete the following form and click Next.
Database access settings
Database Hostname: localhost
Database Username: siteuser_myname
Database Password: mypass
Database Name: siteuser_mydbase
Table Prefix: fusion_


Then when I click next I get the error message. Here are the contents of the file "config.php":
<?php
// database settings
$db_host="localhost";
$db_user="siteuser_myname";
$db_pass="mypass";
$db_name="siteuser_mydbase";
$db_prefix="fusion_";
define("DB_PREFIX", "fusion_");
?>


Can you tell me where I am going wrong please?

Thankyou

Swerdna
Edited by swerdna on 16-06-2007 21:57,
0 replies

7 posts

S
SiLTuX
S
SiLTuX 10
  • Newbie, joined since
  • Contributed 8 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 1 thread in the forums
answered
Newbie

You have to add the user to the database ...

Go to your Cpanel, then to MySQL® Databases, there you have Add Users To Your Databases: ... select the user you want from the list , selecte the databse you want from the list ... check the ALL boxe and then click the "Add user to database" button
0 replies
S
swerdna
S
  • Newbie, joined since
  • Contributed 5 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 1 thread in the forums
  • Started this discussions
answered
Newbie

Quote

SiLTuX wrote:
You have to add the user to the database ...

Go to your Cpanel, then to MySQL® Databases, there you have Add Users To Your Databases: ... select the user you want from the list , selecte the databse you want from the list ... check the ALL boxe and then click the "Add user to database" button


Thanks very much for that SiLTuX. I followed your advice and the cPanel control panel page shows this, after adding the user to the database:

Quote

Current Databases: siteuser_mydbase

Users in mydbase
siteuser_myname (Privileges: SELECT, INSERT, UPDATE, DELETE, CREATE, DROP, REFERENCES, INDEX, ALTER, CREATE TEMPORARY TABLES, LOCK TABLES)

Connection Strings
Perl $dbh = DBI->connect("DBI:mysql:siteuser_mydbase:localhost","siteuser_myname","<PASSWORD HERE>");
PHP $dbh=mysql_connect ("localhost", "siteuser_myname", "<PASSWORD HERE>") or die ('I cannot connect to the database because: ' . mysql_error());
mysql_select_db ("siteuser_mydbase");


And when I address the site itself in my browser I get this error from Apache:

Quote

Internal Server Error
The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.

Please contact the server administrator, webmaster@yoursite.net.au and inform them of the time the error occurred, and anything you might have done that may have caused the error.

More information about this error may be available in the server error log.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.
Apache/1.3.37 Server at www.yoursite.net.au Port 80


What advice now please??

Swerdna
0 replies
S
SiLTuX
S
SiLTuX 10
  • Newbie, joined since
  • Contributed 8 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 1 thread in the forums
answered
Newbie

This i don't know why ... try deleteing your .htaccess form public_html ... and then try accesing the setup.php file.
0 replies
S
swerdna
S
  • Newbie, joined since
  • Contributed 5 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 1 thread in the forums
  • Started this discussions
answered
Newbie

Quote

SiLTuX wrote:
This i don't know why ... try deleteing your .htaccess form public_html ... and then try accesing the setup.php file.
Hello again SiLTuX. I'll try that, but another possible cause of the problem occurs to me. The handbook says this:

Quote

you will need to CHMOD the following files & folders to 777:

* administration/db_backups/
* images/
* images/imagelist.js
* images/articles/
* images/avatars/
* images/news/
* images/news_cats/
* images/photoalbum/
* images/photoalbum/submissions/
* forum/attachments/
* config.php
I'm having trouble unterstanding the terminology.
Just so I understand properly: For example: Does the line "administration/db_backups/" mean that the files inside folder "db_backups" are to have permissions rwxrwxrwx, or that the folder db_backups is to have permissions rwxrwxrwx? (or both??)

I changed the folders and files that I have bolded, but not contents of folders. Was that wrong or right?

Thanks
Swerdna
Edited by swerdna on 17-06-2007 12:58,
0 replies
S
SiLTuX
S
SiLTuX 10
  • Newbie, joined since
  • Contributed 8 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 1 thread in the forums
answered
Newbie

It's ok ...
0 replies
S
swerdna
S
  • Newbie, joined since
  • Contributed 5 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 1 thread in the forums
  • Started this discussions
answered
Newbie

Quote

SiLTuX wrote:
It's ok ...
Hello SiLTuX. I renamed .htaccess to "save_file" because it's got some redirects in it. Tried again the configuration. Same server error again.

More background. There's an active conventional site there that I wrote myself. Its not php based - conventional. and I've put the Php-Fusion files into a subdirectory ~www/fusion. I'm trying to add a forum to my site. Both directories www and fusion are rwxrwxrwx. Would it be wrong to lodge the files in /fusion rather than in / (www root)??

Swerdna
Edited by swerdna on 17-06-2007 14:29,
0 replies
S
swerdna
S
  • Newbie, joined since
  • Contributed 5 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 1 thread in the forums
  • Started this discussions
answered
Newbie

OK I removed the old site temporarily, removed .htaccess (which the server replaced automagically with an empty file), ftp'd brand new php-fusion files to root, re-checked the permissions, and addressed http://domainname.etc.etc/ and got the same error.

Anything further I can check, or tell you?

Swerdna
0 replies

Labels

None yet

Statistics

  • Views 0 views
  • Posts 7 posts
  • Votes 0 votes
  • Topic users 2 members

0 participants

Notifications

Track thread

You are not receiving notifications from this thread.

Related Questions

Not yet