Oh no! Where's the JavaScript?
Your Web browser does not have JavaScript enabled or does not support JavaScript. Please enable JavaScript on your Web browser to properly view this Web site, or upgrade to a Web browser that does support JavaScript.
Not a member yet? Click here to register.
Forgot Password?

Advanced Web links

Asked Modified Viewed 4,240 times
G
gilesytheking
G
  • Junior Member, joined since
  • Contributed 48 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 18 threads in the forums
  • Started this discussions
asked
Junior Member

Is there anything like advanced web links? I want to be able to have the title of the web link, the url its self, short description also telephone number, email, fax and possibly an image, for example a company logo.

An emaple of something similar can be found here..... http://cyprus.angloinfo.com/af/269/cy...-hire.html
0 replies

15 posts

G
gilesytheking
G
  • Junior Member, joined since
  • Contributed 48 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 18 threads in the forums
  • Started this discussions
answered
Junior Member

still need help with this.

I want to add more fields to the web links page, such as fax, telephone number, address etc.

My guess is i need to create extra classes in the database then to add the fields into the weblinks.php page.

................
0 replies
S
smokeman
S
  • Veteran Member, joined since
  • Contributed 920 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 79 threads in the forums
answered
Veteran Member

I'll make something for you - but I should know exactly what/how many extra fields you want to have ?

Is it just the 3 extra fields:
- fax
- telephone
- address

?
0 replies
G
gilesytheking
G
  • Junior Member, joined since
  • Contributed 48 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 18 threads in the forums
  • Started this discussions
answered
Junior Member

I want to create a bussiness directory using the web links feature.
I would like to have the following fields;

Bussiness name
Bussiness description
Location/Address (possible with a link to google maps???)
Url (clickable to open in new tab or page)
Email
Telephone
Fax

Would it also be possible to add the same fields into the submit link page?

If you could do it that would be great.
Edited by gilesytheking on 24-03-2011 15:35,
0 replies
S
smokeman
S
  • Veteran Member, joined since
  • Contributed 920 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 79 threads in the forums
answered
Veteran Member

The field URL - why is this neccesary ? This field allready exists - the name of the link is a clickable link. There's no need to reinvent the wheel - you know..

Besides that - if you can make a screenshot of how you want the layout to look like - then you don't have to use "my taste" of the layout.
0 replies
G
gilesytheking
G
  • Junior Member, joined since
  • Contributed 48 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 18 threads in the forums
  • Started this discussions
answered
Junior Member

because i want the first field to be the bussiness/company name not the name of their website.

If you check out http://cyprus.angloinfo.com/af/269/cy...-hire.html

I want the layout to be something similar to this site.
0 replies
S
smokeman
S
  • Veteran Member, joined since
  • Contributed 920 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 79 threads in the forums
answered
Veteran Member

Info: All coding finished up regarding the
/weblinks.php
/administration/weblinks.php

All there's back is to finish the coding of the files
/submit.php
/administration/submissions.php

- hopefully I have the time for making this tonight.

Here's attached a screenshot of the result by now:
smokeman attached the following file:
weblink_mod.jpg [No information available / 78 Downloads]
0 replies
S
smokeman
S
  • Veteran Member, joined since
  • Contributed 920 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 79 threads in the forums
answered
Veteran Member

Here you go - a copy of the following readme-file is included in the package.

Quote


NAME:
----------
Weblinks Mod.

For PHPFusion v7.01.xx and v7.02.xx


DESCRIPTION:
--------------------
Allows 4 extra fields for weblinks:

- Fax
- Phone
- Address
- E-mail


INSTALLATION:
----------------------
1. Copy the following code into a new empty Custom Page. Give the Page any title - enter your admin password and press "View" - DO NOT press "Save Page". This will add the extra needed fields in the database.

<?php
$result = dbquery("
ALTER TABLE ".DB_WEBLINKS."
ADD weblink_fax VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL AFTER weblink_count,
ADD weblink_phone VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL AFTER weblink_fax,
ADD weblink_address VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL AFTER weblink_phone,
ADD weblink_mail VARCHAR(100) NOT NULL AFTER weblink_address
");
echo "<div style='text-align:center;'>Extra fields added to the database!</div>n";
?>


2. Upload the content of the map "files" to the root of the server.

3. Done! - You can now fill out the extra fields from the administration of weblinks.


UNINSTALLATION:
--------------------------
1. Upload the following 8 original files from the PHPFusion download package:

/submit.php
/weblinks.php
/administration/submissions.php
/administration/weblinks.php
/locale/English/submit.php
/locale/English/weblinks.php
/locale/English/admin/submissions.php
/locale/English/admin/weblinks.php


2. Delete the extra added fields from the database table YOURPREFIX_weblinks:

- weblink_fax
- weblink_phone
- weblink_address
- weblink_mail


VERSION:
-------------
1.0


CHANGELOG:
-------------------
v1.0 - First release.


AUTHOR:
-------------
Robert Holm AKA Smokeman

http://www.phpfusion-tips.dk/


Files attached..

Enjoy!
Edited by smokeman on 18-04-2011 20:35,
smokeman attached the following file:
weblinks_mod.zip [No information available / 260 Downloads]
0 replies
G
gilesytheking
G
  • Junior Member, joined since
  • Contributed 48 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 18 threads in the forums
  • Started this discussions
answered
Junior Member

thanks for your time, just had a few problems installing.
viewed the script in custom pages i got the folling error

Quote

Unknown column 'weblink_mail' in 'fusion1dffa_expat12_weblinks'


also when i go to view a submitted weblink i get the following error

Quote

Unknown column 'weblink_fax' in 'field list'Unknown column 'weblink_fax' in 'field list'


if you could point me in the right direction, i followed your instructions in the read me
0 replies
S
smokeman
S
  • Veteran Member, joined since
  • Contributed 920 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 79 threads in the forums
answered
Veteran Member

Which exactly version of PHPFusion are you running ?

Edit: There was a small bug in the package/readme-file.

Solution: Delete the 4 new added fields from the database - and then re-download the package and start over again following the readme file.
Edited by smokeman on 25-03-2011 19:33,
0 replies
G
gilesytheking
G
  • Junior Member, joined since
  • Contributed 48 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 18 threads in the forums
  • Started this discussions
answered
Junior Member

I am running fusion v7.01.05

I have re uploaded the origianl files, but when i went to delete the 4 new fields from data base, they did not exist.

I will try to create the new data bases now and upload your pack again.
0 replies
G
gilesytheking
G
  • Junior Member, joined since
  • Contributed 48 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 18 threads in the forums
  • Started this discussions
answered
Junior Member

your code for adding the data base fields maybe wrong. I have used the follwing code and added the fields without a probelm. Will upload all the files now.

Quote

<?php
$result = dbquery("ALTER TABLE ".DB_PREFIX."weblinks
ADD weblink_fax varchar(100) NOT NULL;");
if ($result) {
echo "db tables added";}
else { echo "ERROR"; }
?>
0 replies
S
smokeman
S
  • Veteran Member, joined since
  • Contributed 920 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 79 threads in the forums
answered
Veteran Member

I have double checked it now on two sites - no problem at all for me..

Have you re-downloaded the attachment in post #8 ???

Edit: The last site I installed this on is here:
http://www.dev.dvdside.dk/weblinks.ph...p?cat_id=1
0 replies
G
gilesytheking
G
  • Junior Member, joined since
  • Contributed 48 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 18 threads in the forums
  • Started this discussions
answered
Junior Member

added the databases using a diffent code and everything works fine. thanks a bunch for your time and effort, much appreciated.
0 replies
S
smokeman
S
  • Veteran Member, joined since
  • Contributed 920 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 79 threads in the forums
answered
Veteran Member

What different code ? - my edited code should work..
0 replies
G
gilesytheking
G
  • Junior Member, joined since
  • Contributed 48 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 18 threads in the forums
  • Started this discussions
answered
Junior Member

i used the code in post 12, to add the database fields, then i uploaded what you sent me and it worked straight away.
0 replies

Labels

None yet

Statistics

  • Views 0 views
  • Posts 15 posts
  • Votes 0 votes
  • Topic users 2 members

2 participants

S
S
  • Veteran Member, joined since
  • Contributed 920 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 79 threads in the forums
G
G
  • Junior Member, joined since
  • Contributed 48 posts on the community forums.
  • Started 18 threads in the forums
  • Started this discussions

Notifications

Track thread

You are not receiving notifications from this thread.

Related Questions

Not yet